A. R. Silverberry Wins Three Royal Palm Literary Awards!

2020 FWA Royal Palm Literary Award

2020 Royal Palm Literary Award

Silverberry Wins Three Royal Palm Literary Awards!

THRILLING NEWS! My unpublished novel Shadow House won the Florida Writers Association Royal Palm Literary Award gold medal in both the Young Adult/New Adult and Science Fiction categories. Plus [drum roll], it was First Runner Up for Unpublished Book of the Year! To celebrate, I’m doing a giveaway with books and other prizes. I’ll be updating this post shortly with entry details and a Rafflecopter.

For more information about the Florida Writers Association and the Royal Palm Literary Awards, see an excerpt from RPLA chair Chris Coward’s press release below. Congratulations to all the winners!

FWA Press Release Excerpt

The award was announced at FWA’s recent remote four-day annual conference. This annual competition, which received 549 submissions, was RPLA’s nineteenth.

“This is the most competitive RPLA we’ve ever had,” said Chris Coward, RPLA chairperson. “The RPLA administrative team, judges, and entrants did an amazing job.”

In all, the competition covered 28 adult genres and 5 Youth genres, with published and unpublished entries considered separately. There were four grand awards, as well.

  • Published Book of the Year: The Orphan of Pitigliano, Historical Fiction, by Marina Brown
  • Unpublished Book of the Year: Boomerang, Mainstream or Literary, by Susan Dobson
  • Best Children’s Book: Gabriel Goes Up, Children’s Picture Book, by Amy Nicolai
  • The Candice Coghill Memorial Award for the best youth entry: “Blue and Black,” Unpublished Poetry, ages 12 to 15, by Jacqueline Cook

“A win at any level can help any writer market their manuscript or published book, and the detailed feedback from the judges is invaluable for all entrants,” Ms. Coward said.

“It’s an honor to be recognized in such a prestigious completion and among such a talented group of writers,” Silverberry said.

The Florida Writers Association, 1,800 members strong and growing, is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) organization that supports the state’s established and emerging writers. Membership is open to the public.

The Royal Palm Literary Awards competition is a service of the Florida Writers Association established to recognize excellence in its members’ published and unpublished works while providing objective and constructive written assessments for all entrants.

For additional information, visit the FWA website: floridawriters.net, where you’ll also find more about RPLA and the complete list of 2020 winners. Or, contact www.arsilverberry.com for details about A. R. Silverberry or for interviews.




Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *